Three Sheets To The Wind

Only they are not. They are damp, folded on top of the washing machine, ready to chance their luck tomorrow.

It is the rainy season, which calls for method with heavy items of laundry. Washing machine overnight, ready to go out on the line the minute the sun beats off the morning mists, and bob’s your uncle. Sheets dry and back in the press in the afternoon as the clouds gather above.

Except for the intervention of fate. It is reckoned that the sound of a vomiting dog could rouse the hardiest of the Seven Sleepers and this morning, while breakfasting, I heard the dire sounds coming from the bedroom. My knees might not be what they once were but I reckon I could have given Hussein Bolt a run for his money over the twelve metres from table to bedside, though all in vain.

Plush had been faster, though not so fast as to escape, hide and blame it on Napoleon – the usual culprit. The sheets, top, bottom and undersheet, had to be whipped off the bed and hurled into the wash.

Where is the problem, you ask? The problem was that I had changed the bedding the night before, and it was last night’s bedding which occupied the washing line.

At one time I had extensive washing lines in the garden where bedding could blow high wide and handsome but gradually the garden has encroached on them and they are currently occupied by the maracuya vines – passion fruit – so valuable for cool drinks, jams and desserts.

While a chayote vine would have swiftly met its Waterloo the maracuya can invade wherever it likes. so those washing lines are lost to me, leaving only the line under cover on the balcony.

These linen sheets are heavy, two pieces joined up the middle as the cloth was woven on narrow home looms. We bought them in France – stacks of them – at vide greniers, brocantes – some embroidered with the initials of the bride to be, others with ladder edgings – no longer wanted in an age when the housewife could sling cotton polyester sheets in the dryer to be ready in minutes.

These were the sheets that my neighbour in France, Edith, would be washing in the spring at the back of her farm…beating the dirt out on the stones, leaving them to dry on the rosemary bushes in the sun to give them that ivory colour which we prized. So often, the professional sellers had treated them with bleach to obtain the sparkling white which denoted a short life for what they were selling.

Why do we want heavy sheets in Costa Rica? It is, after all, warm!

Go back to childhood. We were both brought up in houses without heat in the bedrooms, except in case of illness. I remember having scarlet fever with blankets blocking the window and the bed surrounded with disinfectant soaked sheets , while a coal fire burned in the grate night and day, but apart from that the windows in winter were patterned with frost on the inside and we went to sleep under old Army blankets made from what was appropriately known as ‘shoddy’- a fabric made from recycled wool -, they were not warm, but they were heavy.

Accordingly, neither of us can sleep unless the top sheets are heavy…we can always throw them off, but they have to be there to induce slumber – and they take a bit of drying.

We have known other sheets in our time…the hospedaje in Granada, Nicaragua – before foreigners took over the town – where our en suite shower was surrounded by plastic roof sheeting and the bed sheets were pure polyester. We spent the night turning over on the glossy surface and crashing to the floor while Leo slapped the tribes of mozzies keen to feed on foreign flesh. After a night of thuds and slaps he was greeted as a sexual superman in the morning with men standing him brandies.

I must get these sheets out tomorrow, they are in the way…… I remember my father returning home in winter to see laundry drying on clothes horses before the fire and stating ‘this is like the slums of Naples’ though how he related clothes hanging on lines across the streets in bright sunshine to the steaming racks in front of the fire in a dreich winter evening is beyond me.

Most foreigners here have dryers…..but not for me. Even in the rainy season there is enough of a breeze – rising to a howling gale – to dry even these sheets under the cover of the balcony if you catch the morning hours and there is nothing like the scent of fresh linen dried outdoors.

Time now for a gin and tonic…..but only one or otherwise I too shall be three sheets to the wind.

47 thoughts on “Three Sheets To The Wind”

  1. Ah that’s why I like a heavy covering! Those grey army blankets, possibly with ‘WD’ stencilled upon them, were on all our beds, as were the dressing gowns and overcoats! Though these did not have ‘WD’ stencilled upon them. The Jack Frost in the morning, and I had the coldest room above the stair entrance, and no coal fire, indeed no warmth bar hot water bottles. 

    I ahd to laugh at the brandies offered to Leo, and your joy at finding the dog on the newly made bed. You get all the best luck! All these foreigners who try to live like they did back home, maybe they should go native for a while. 

    That was a good post, at least it made me laugh…

  2. You have heavy linen sheets! Aren’t they wonderful? I inherited a few, along with napkins, tablecloths, pillowcases and those little cloths that you put on the floor at bedside. Lucky for me that none of Jean-Yves’ family wanted to bother with them. I’m actually afraid to use them, they seem so precious, but they look terrific in the glass-front cabinet that I had made from an old window.

    1. They are gorgeous…and so comfortable! We found a lot of linen tablecloths and napkins when we bought our last house in France, and they are still with us and in use.
      Go on, spoil yourself and bring them out!

  3. Ah linen sheets- we too have many from France – and tea towels too. I bet you have those as well, edged usually in red.
    You know you can now buy specially weighted blankets to induce slumber and keep one from waking. Not for me… the bed looks like it’s been through an explosion most mornings.. poor Jane, she says she never has a good night’s sleep.

    1. Oh yes, tea towels, tray cloths, runners…the works!
      I haven’t had a good night’s sleep for months – have to get up to adjust Leo’s oxygen lines a few times in the night – so it’s important to be able to settle down to sleep as soon as i go to bed and these sheets are perfect.

  4. Love this! I detest poly cotton sheets with a vengeance. When it’s possible I will invest in new cotton bedding. And yes, I remember darling mum putting linen and cotton bedding the the ‘copper’ boiler in the scullery, seeing them drying on a high washing line.. bearing in mind she was brought up in a Magdalen Laundry and knew how to look after linen. When I had my B&B I ensured my clients had cotton for their sheets and pillowcases, I used to like the process of laundering and ironing them.. I later discovered that my paternal grandmother worked in the laundry of a local girls boarding school (Walthamstow School) in Sevenoaks, her mother was also a lady who took in laundry. It must be in our genes.

    Love to you both..

    1. Mother’s mother had one of those coppers….I remember her putting the washing out…sheets on the outside lines, shirts and underwear on the inner ones! Talk soon!

  5. Noooo! I can’t stand anything heavy on me, it’s a complete sleep prevention agent, even though I grew up in the Peak District where my breath turned to frost on the heavy wallpaper in Nan’s spare bedroom. The one where the window didn’t shut properly. But something heavy above me when I lay down? Oh Lord no. Oh and by the way, I laughed out loud at the “morning after” events in Nicaragua. So funny. I can only wonder whether he owned up to the truth or simply basked in the misplaced admiration.

  6. I can generally sleep anywhere except under public gaze – but can’t just nod off in public, no matter how great the need. My foible is towels – being a bloke I abhor the huge, thick, fluffy soft variety. My towels are all Army Surplus – nice and small and on the thin side of businesslike. I bought a bundle of them mayhap twenty years ago for £2 … and I am still only using the first two, turn and turn about in the laundry! Two flaps of a small butterfly’s wings and they’re dry. No idea what these towels are made of, label says ‘Cotton’ but I suspect it’s more likely some form of absorbent Kevlar. 🙂

    1. Leo’s not that well, unfortunately – hefty doses of antibiotic don’t sit well with him, so I hope he will pick up at the end of the course.
      As to the washing, i could have done without the canine spoke in the wheel, I must admit!

  7. This post invoked many childhood memories. It has been 50 years since I last hung out sheets on a line, but vividly I remember the smell of fresh made line dried sheets as I crawled warm and comfy betweeen the sheets. Thanks for sharing your post.

  8. i could not agree more I have to have a bit of weight on the sheets on the bed though I am also happy to throw them off if too hot. As for a dryer I had one in the UK for the short time we were there but sold it as soon as we moved to France. This year I almost regretted it, the rain keeps coming down, but I seem to have found the odd dry day. Mind you if the forecast is right there are no dry days in the next fortnight Whatever happened to spring it was only 10C today.

    Tried to send this in comments but it was having nothing to do with it 😢

    Keep well you two, or as well as possible. Cheers Diane

    1. France seems to have had a really wet winter – a wet spring is the last thing you need!

      You’re right though, there usually seems to be some dry moments….I can’t understand people here who use dryers even in the summer! One told me that a washing line looks untidy…..

      Thanks for the kind wishes….I could just do with one good night’s sleep at the moment!

  9. I hope youn enjoyed your G & T..like you I have no need for a tumbledryer…I love the sight of sheets or white nappies blowing in the breeze although seeing a white nappy would be a miracle I think they must be extinct…a lovely post Helen …

    1. A neighbour was complaining about the price of absorbant pads for her daughter’s baby. I suggested nappies and she looked at me as though I was mad!

          1. It’s all of a piece….in the tamale making season the price of tomatoes rises astronomically, as they are used in the filling. Will she use tinned tomatoes, still cheap as chips? No.

  10. I was raised on those cheap polyester/cotton sheets, so I have no problem sleeping on, or underneath, them. But I can see why you value the heavier sheets, and why you prefer to air dry them. I’m sorry a nauseated dog made things so difficult, but I have to say, I enjoyed reading about it. Especially the part where the locals wanted to buy your husband drinks, misunderstanding just what they were hearing during the night! That made me laugh out loud!

    1. I suppose it all depends on what – dare I say these days – ‘triggers’ you. Grew up in a cold climate and I suppose that the weight became part of a going to sleep ritual. Mother’s mother had feather beds,,,so as a child you just sank down into them. Now they were warm!
      That night in Granada was something! We had pitched up, looking for somewhere to stay, and followed the bus driver’s recommendation to this place which was not exactly de luxe, but cheap and friendly. The en suite was quite something, the shower surround built from blue plastic roofing panels, and had hot water if you used it before the other clients returned….and then the sheets! They were so slippery that the slightest movement had you sliding inevitably to your doom….and then there were the mozzies….
      We emerged in the morning, looking, no doubt, like the wreck of the Hesperus, to find gentlemen eyeing Leo and setting up glasses of brandy on the breakfast bar….beaming at him. I, I noted, did not get brandy!

      1. Typical! If they thought it was a “successful” evening, then all the credit goes to the man. If it wasn’t “successful”, you can bet they would have blamed you…..

    1. Yes to both, thankfully. Plush does have a dodgy tummy, as does Napoleon and I just wonder whether anxiety – when Leo is not well, for example – might bring on the problems.

Leave a comment